Only A Year Late: The Industry Portage Lookbook Photo Shoot

For over a year now I had been planning to do a photoshoot in order to create a lookbook or style book for my bag designs.  I had even secured a world class photographer, made a premature announcement and planned to do it last May.  Since Industry Portage is a “parallel business” (a new term I recentlydiscovered) for me as well as being bootstrapped, I was dedicating all available funds to either developing new prototypes or for buying inventory. I had found the perfect location for the shoot and I had developed an inspiration board dedicated to keeping together ideas for the photoshoot on Pinterest, as well as archiving anything I liked on my iPad or iPhone camera roll. There was also a little fear in doing a photoshoot since I had never done one before. Recently, I came across a talented local photographer who offered a great rate through an Amazon local deal and convinced him to do the styling shoot for me, instead of the family portrait session he offered.  I think he was relieved NOT to do another family photo session which is probably in high demand, but may not be the easiest of endeavors, especially when dealing with small children. Having a 3 and 5 year old myself, I know that this is a big challenge.

As the shoot date approached, I decided to enlist the help of friends who could model for the shoot and provide alternative looks.  After sending out the call, I was able to get my man Pat McCarthy to step up.  He had a great energy and came up with some great ideas as well while we were shooting.

I was very happy with the results and I’d love to hear what you think too.  I know we can do better and look forward to planning another shoot when the time is right.

The Industry Portage Co. 2013 S/S Stylebook

SK-6 Black SK-6 Gear Bag SK-6 Grey SK-11 Black SK-11 Natural SK-12 Green SK-12 Orange BW SK-12withMotorcycle SK-16 Canvas Weekender Suede Welder Tote IV

Leave a Reply

